“I watch Pete Townshend buy over 30 guitars”

In zijn blog op The Hufftington Post schrijft Binky Philips over Manny’s gitaarshop in Manhattan en zijn ontmoeting met Pete in die winkel.

“I walked in and, to my shocked disbelief, Pete Townshend was standing at the back counter talking to head salesman, the truly legendary Henry Goldrich. (…)  It was the first time I’d ever seen Pete anywhere other than onstage. It’s a dull-as-dirt cliche, but, I felt like I was in a dream as I floated up to Pete and Henry, just in time to hear, with my own ears, Pete ordering (and this is verbatim… my brain recorded it!)… “Give me ten Telecasters, ten Stratocasters, five Jazzmasters, five of those Corals, three Gibson Stereo 355s…”

Henry, scribbling furiously, looked up and said, “You really ought to try the Gibson SG Special, Pete. It’s the best buy out there.” Pete chuckled ruefully…”Okay, Henry. Spend more of my money, three of them, too, then…” [Henry was right. The Gibson SG Special was the guitar Pete would use for the entire “Tommy” era, and the model guitar he threw me at the Metropolitan Opera House a few years later.]

So, it was true! Unlike the rumors I’d heard at the time that he was secretly ruining knock-off pieces of junk, Pete Townshend really was trashing copious amounts of really expensive guitars. Amusingly to me, over the years, Henry would only get mad at Pete when he wrecked high-end Gibsons

Geef een reactie

