Rolling Stones, The Who en Metallica “blew it”, volgens rocker

In een artikel op de AV Club kiest Buzz Osbourne van The Melvins enkele tracks van “goede bands die het verknald hebben”. Hij kiest “Won’t Get Fooled Again” van The Who, en meldt:

The Who’s “Won’t Get Fooled Again” is one of the greatest rock songs ever written. So, to have to try and force yourself to listen to the Who Are You? album a matter of years later is a trial. Pete Townshend is one of my favorites. I think he’s an unbelievable songwriter and I love most of what he did. This year one of my friends bought me a Pete Townshend model SG as a gift. So it’s the same model he played at Woodstock and I couldn’t have been more excited. I was almost giddy

Maar hij voegt toe:
After [Who’s Next], they drifted off. I imagine drugs destroyed them. Then Keith Moon died and they replaced him with Kenney Jones. That’s when I saw The Who and it was relatively limp. The songs were good and that helped carry it, but I thought the obvious replacement for him should have been Rat Scabies from The Damned, or Clem Burke from Blondie“.

Ultimate Classic Rock heeft dit in een artikel opgepakt.

Geef een reactie

