“The Who plays ‘in the key of Nashville’ at Bridgestone”

Gisteren speelde The Who weer. Nadat er drie concerten uitgesteld waren vanwege stembandproblemen van Roger, ging het concert in de Bridgestone Arena in Nashville weer gewoon door. Pete had voordat het concert begon wat probleempjes met zijn iPad, die aan zijn microfoonstandaard vast zit. “What’s my fucking password? Oh! I’ve got an email. Hold on a minute!

Setlist:
I Can’t Explain
The Seeker
Who Are You
The Kids Are Alright
Squeeze Box
I Can See for Miles
My Generation
Magic Bus
Behind Blue Eyes
Bargain
Join Together
You Better You Bet
I’m One
Love, Reign O’er Me
Eminence Front
A Quick One (While He’s Away)
Amazing Journey
Sparks
Pinball Wizard
See Me, Feel Me / Listening to You
Baba O’Riley
Won’t Get Fooled Again

The Tennessean heeft een recensie van het concert.

“The Who first performed in Nashville in the summer of 1968. 47 years later, the town’s musical culture was still on their minds. “There are a few songs that are in the key of Nashville,” Townshend told the crowd. “There are songs in G, and songs in D. This song’s in D. Isn’t this fascinating?”. “I came to Nashville a bit early,” he continued. “I bought a mandolin, and I took it to my hotel room. I started to play it, and I could hear the city kind of chiming in. It was kind of creepy.”

Toward the end of the night, Daltrey had the Nashville audience singing the refrain of “Baba O’Riley,” giving him a break from those rafter-reaching notes. But the 71-year-old singer was in admirable form and spirits throughout the night. Though he was dwarfed by a massive video wall and your usual arena rock light display, his signature scream on “Won’t Get Fooled Again” was easily the night’s most electric moment.

Geef een reactie

